Health · Mom Life · New Perspective

Heal Thy Self

… This phrase has been standing out to me more and more recently. Keeping up with my parental duties, two energetic little boys, a husband who doesn’t want to come home to a sluggish wife, oh and me? Yea me? Phew for one minute I forgot that I live for myself too! One of the first things I can honestly say I deprive myself of is sleep. Haha and here goes the eye rolls. Yes I know us mom’s WE ALL NEED SLEEP. So yea, it isn’t a “I want a nap” it is a “If I don’t get at least 6 hours of uninterrupted sleep someone is going to die!” Well maybe not that dramatic, but you catch my drift.

Another thing that I deprive myself of … Vitamins!!! I am constantly reminding my oldest to take his vitamins yet I never put the fuel I need in my own body. Sounds a little hypocritical don’t you think? How can I expect my own children to grow up taking care of themselves if I don’t practice what I preach!! I would say this whole month has been about making better choices and putting my body back to being a priority. This week we got caught up in birthday parties, cleaning my house, and caring for my sick children. This winter has been horrible on my family!! GERMS ARE EVERYWHERE!!

This weekend I plan on getting back to my clean meal challenges for dinner again. It makes me feel good that I can provide my family a meal that is filling, healthy, and yummy too!! Pinterest has been extremely helpful in this department!

Lastly, I would say my mental health. You know the only time I am truly alone… alone with my thoughts, is in the shower. No exaggeration!! With the weather changes I am hoping to be able to walk more. I have walked twice this month, and each time I feel recharged! Ready to take on the laundry pile! I always seem nicer after a walk, and motivated to be a better me!

Healthy Self = Heal Thy Self

How do you as mom’s take care of you?

 

Leave a Reply

